Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


Note: For contact information on the following departments, visit the Government's website.

Commonwealth of Dominica Police Force

The Commonwealth of Dominica Police Force is governed by the Police Act Chapter 14:01 of the Revised Laws of Dominica. The Commissioner of Police (Mr. Matthias Lestrade) is the head of the Police Force with assistance from the Deputy Commissioner of Police (Mr. Hobbes Jno. Baptiste). The ranks include:

Gazetted Officers:

  • Commissioner of Police
  • Deputy Commissioner of Police
  • Superintendent of Police
  • Assistant Superintendent of Police

Subordinate Officers:

  • Inspectors
  • Station Sergeants
  • Sergeants
  • Corporals
  • Constables

The Police Force presently consists of 444 established officers.

Police Welfare Association

The Police Welfare Association is an association which consists of all members of the Police Force below the rank of Assistant Superintendent, which acts through the Executive Committee. The duty of the Committee is to make representation with regard to all matters affecting the general welfare and efficiency of the Police Force as a whole.

Fire and Ambulance Services Division

The Fire and Ambulance Services Division is governed by Chapter 42:60 of the Revised Laws of Dominica under the supervision of the Chief Fire Officer. The post is presently held by Mr. Josiah Dupuis. The ranks of the Fire and Ambulance Services Division consist of:

  • Chief Fire Officer (1)
  • Deputy Chief Fire Officer (1)
  • Station Officer (5)
  • Sub-station Officer (7)
  • Fire Officer (70)
  • Volunteers
  • Third Officer
  • Sub-Officer
  • Fire Officer

A Fire Officer is defined as a full-time member of the Fire and Ambulance Service. A Volunteer Fire Officer is a part-time member of the Fire and Ambulance Services. Presently, the establishment consists of 95 Fire Officers.

Presently there are no Volunteer Fire Fighters, however, several persons from the following communities have received training in Fire fighting and prevention techniques: Calibishie, Woodford Hill, Wesley, Marigot, Atkinson, Salybia and Salisbury.

Dominica Prison Service

The Prisons Services Division is established under the Prisons Act Chapter 12:70 of the Revised Laws of Dominica. The superintendence and management of the Prisons is made up of the Superintendent of Prisons and 62 other staff members.

The other ranks of the Prison Services Division include:

  • Superintendent of Prisons (1)
  • Assistant Superintendent of Prisons (1)
  • Chief Prison Officer (1)
  • Principal Prison Officer (6)
  • Senior Prison Officers (13)
  • Prison Officers (40)

A Visiting Committee is established to visit the prisons on a weekly basis and their mandate includes cooperation with the Superintendent in promoting the efficiency of the Prisons, provide advice as to the education, recreation, employment and welfare of the prisoners.

Labour Division

The work of the Labour Division is governed by the Labour Standards Act Chapter 89:05 of the Revised Laws of Dominica. The Department is headed by the Labour Commissioner (Mr. Matthew LeBlanc) assisted by the Deputy Labour Commissioner, Labour Officers and other support staff.

The Department is responsible for Citizenship and Naturalization, work and residence permits, industrial relations, labour and productivity, recruitment of workers, trade disputes and Trade Union issues.

You are here Divisions